Selected Works

Fiction
An American love story with Cold War complications.
Three women--a composer, a galley cook, and a climate change geologist--take jobs in Antarctica where they fall in love and into trouble.
A moment of simultaneous grace and injustice leads to the unraveling of three lives.
Two sisters unveil the truth about their brother's disappearance.
Lori, an adult bicycle mechanic, learns to read -- and much more.
Sports and adventure stories.
Nonfiction
For Kids
Armchair travel to Antarctica.
Victoria saves an endangered continent.
River wants to make the WNBA!
A mountain lion prowls into an urban neighborhood.
Two girls survive in a mountain storm.

The Evolution of Love: events and talks


Los Angeles Times Festival of Books
Sunday, April 22, 11:00 am

Signing in the Rare Bird Books booth

Bay Area Book Festival
Saturday, April 28, 12:00 noon

Signing in the Rare Bird Books booth

Laurel Bookstore
Oakland, CA
Saturday, May 12, 5:00 pm

1423 Broadway
laurelbookstore@​att.net
(510) 452-9232

Prairie Lights Bookstore
Iowa City, IA
Tuesday, May 15, 7:00 pm

15 South Dubuque St.
(319) 337-2681

Left Bank Books
St. Louis, MO
Thursday, May 17, 7:00 pm

399 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
(314) 367.6731

Booksmith @​ The Bindery
In conversation with Rabih Alameddine
San Francisco, CA
Tuesday, May 22, 7:30 pm

1727 Haight St.
orders@​booksmith.com
(415) 863-8688

Kepler's Books
In Conversation with Karen Joy Fowler
Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 pm

1010 El Camino Real
Menlo Park, CA 94025
(650) 324-4321

Powell's Books on Hawthorne
Portland, OR
Thursday, May 31, 7:30 pm

3723 SE Hawthorne Blvd.
(800) 878-7323

Village Books
In Conversation with Carol Guess
Bellingham, WA
Friday, June 1, 7:00 pm

Readings Gallery
1200 11th Street
(360) 671-2626

The Bureau @​ The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center
In conversation with Christopher Bram
New York City
Sunday, June 3, 5:00 pm

208 West 13th Street, Room 210
contact@​BGSQD.com
(646) 457-0859

Books Inc
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, June 12, 7:00 pm

1491 Shattuck Avenue
(510) 525-7777

Why There Are Words
Sausalito, CA
Thursday, June 14, doors open at 7:00

333 Caledonia Street, Studio 333
https:/​/​whytherearewords.com

BookBar
Denver, CO
Friday, June 22, 7:00 pm

4280 Tennyson Street
(303) 284-0194
welcome@​bookbardenver.com

The Avid Reader
Davis, CA
Friday, June 29, 7:30 pm

617 2nd Street
(530) 758-4040

Golden Crown Literary Society, 2018 Con
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, July 7, 2018

Keynote Address
www.goldencrown.org

Dog Eared Books (Castro)
San Francisco, CA
Tuesday, July 24, 7:00 pm

489 Castro Street
(415) 658-7920

Powell's Books on Hawthorne
Portland, OR
Thursday, October 4, 7:30 pm

3723 SE Hawthorne Blvd.
(800) 878-7323

Litquake
"Page Turners: Mysteries and Thrillers"
San Francisco, CA
Saturday, October 13, 7:00 pm

San Francisco Center for the Book
375 Rhode Island St
(415) 565-0545

Booksmith @​ The Bindery
In conversation with Micah Perks and Kate Schatz
San Francisco, CA
Wednesday, November 7, 7:30 pm

1727 Haight St.
orders@​booksmith.com
(415) 863-8688